Waiting till sundown…

Today is the 17th day of Ramadan – meaning 17 days of fasting for Muslim. I’ve been fasting since the 3rd day of Ramadan. And so far everything is good. The 1st week I have lower energy than usual and not having my morning coffee is a huge adjustment to my routine. Other than that it’s all good.

I also learned that between 2 – 4 pm is usually the worst time of the day. That’s when my hunger and thirst reach its peak and of course, it’s mostly the busiest time at work as well so I struggle a bit during that time.

I’m not going to lie, fasting is hard, there are times I feel like “forget this, I’m going to eat something!” but that’s just my temptation talking, so far I can suppress that feeling and stay fasting till the end of the day.

Yesterday I have to do several errands before headed home, it was very hot yesterday and I feel like I can use a big gulp of soda. Then as I stop on the red light, there’s a homeless guy holding a sign asking for help. There’s a few of unopened bottle of water in my car and also a box sandwich that I took home from meeting cause I can’t eat it due to fasting, I offer it to him and he graciously took it. He immediately opens the water and just gulps it as if he hadn’t drink in a while and maybe he hasn’t.

As I drove off he keep on thanking me and there’s a look on his face that I can’t never forget, such gratitude that shows. At that time it hits me, one of the reason for Ramadan is for us to be more compassion towards the unfortunate one. Through fasting, we all experiences hunger and thirst, and will sympathizes more with those in the world who have little to eat and drink every day.

During fasting, no matter how thirsty I am I couldn’t just buy a drink and drink it or just grab any food and eat it. No, you have to wait till sundown before you can eat and drink. Fast food places and restaurant and convenient store are all around me but I couldn’t just stop and grab something. It’s just like that guy at the intersection. No matter how thirsty and or hungry he is, he couldn’t just go there and grab something. At least I only have to wait until sundown, who knows how long he has to wait until he has his “sundown”.

At least I only have to wait until sundown….. I need to remember that feeling, that look on that guy’s face as he gulp the drink.. this feelings and lessons that I experience should stay with me throughout the year.

To all: May Allah accept our fasting, forgive our sins, and guide us all to the Straight Path. May Allah bless us all during Ramadan, and throughout the year, with His forgiveness and mercy, and bring us peace and all closer to Him and to each other. Amien.

6 responses

  1. A meaningful encounter and insight Sendie! I am familiar with Ramadhan since school days because of where I come from. I remember trying to fast with my little friends at school and couldn’t even last until midday….and broke my fasting there and then because of thrist! Fasting takes a lot of strength – both physically and mentally and of course spiritually. It is definitely not easy, I can attest to that. I always respect my muslim friends for their patience and strength, you included. Happy fasting to you! You’re halfway there (how time fliess). Its less than 2 weeks to Eid-ul Fitr! 🙂

    • You remind me of some of my friends back home that try to fast with us and can’t 🙂 it is difficult for sure just like you said, takes a lot of strenght mostly faith in my opinion. It feel like a very long month at the time but now looking back it went fast!!

  2. Thank you for sharing this and reminding us we all have so much to be grateful and perhaps our cell phone issue is not as pressing a problem as we might have thought. I admire you for staying so steadfast to your values and beliefs while temptation surrounds you and really noticing the homeless man; meeting his need for both substance (food/water) and perhaps the real need for someone to notice the man beyond the out stretched hand.

    Id Mubarak.

    (if I just called you a crab or worse…please accept my heartfelt apology….)

  3. What a wonderful post and reminder that we need to stay aware of others . Your dedication to your fast and your steadfastness in staying strong and keeping your fast is such an inspiration. I know that you blessed that homeless man and that he felt your compassion. Thank you for showing me a little more about what your faith and your religion means—it is opening my eyes! 🙂

    • It’s actually a tricky situation for me. I was always affraid to give money cause some people say they might use it to buy drugs or alchohol. BUt I understand the feeling or being very thristy and hungry so before I give, I normally say a little prayer hoping I give to the right person for the right reason.

Leave a Reply

