Put on a happy face

“Annie” at the age of 5 yrs old already taught us to put on a happy face regardless of what inside.

That’s what I’ve been doing. I hate to be blogging about my problems and sorrow and down stuff, but this is part of me being honest to myself and to heal.

In collage, I was known as being very bubbly and easy going. I like the idea of I always be the one to go to when my friends are sad or need shoulder to cry on or someone they can trust. I guess since that time I tried to keep the same image as the go to person. I forgot I also have feelings and I also human that are not immune to sadness and hardship.

 I recently find myself in places where I’m the one who need helps and I’m the one who is sad and not happy. Yet, I keep it all inside and don’t share it with anybody. I’m afraid they will change their image about me. Girl that is always happy.

 I know I’m sad and unhappy and wanted to scream and ask for help but unable to. This stupid pride keeps on blocking the way! I turned into long hours or television watching any stupid shows I can find just to dull the pain, to block it out. I was hoping if I ignore it long enough it will eventually go away.

 Finally, I can’t just keep on ignoring it. There are these voices inside of me that keep on screaming at me calling me a loser, a coward for not speaking out. Until friends calls me out on it. Until that time I never realized how important it is to really sit with whatever it is you are feeling, whether it’s depression, anxiety, frustration, anger and self-doubt when they show up.

You can try to ignore it and hide from it but eventually, you’re going to have to face the tough stuff.

So where did it go wrong? The happy girl I once am, I have a good life, two beautiful girls, a husband, a great job and I’m very blessed with it.. where did it go wrong? Am I just that ungrateful?

 I know that part of it is just being overwhelmed with a lot life changing event that happening to me recently. I guess I just don’t deal with it as good as I should. I guess I’m just not strong enough.

There are still many questions linger, but now I know to face the demon and to talk it out. I won’t let this beat me. I will find and be that happy girl again.

And I thank my friends (again) for helping me reach that realization that I can’t do it alone and I don’t have to. The role has reverse and they will happily hold my hands during this tough and confusing time.

Today is best friend day, I quote from email a friend sent me, ‘Friends are angels who lift us to our feet when our wings have trouble remembering how to fly.’ There is no beginning or end.. Yesterday is history. Tomorrow is a mystery. Today is a gift

Also in honor of best friend day, I read a quote by Katybeth that I truly love:

 “As we grow older, more friends become best friends in different ways. There is a childhood best friend that knew you back in the days; the best friend that you raised your children with over the years; the best friend you may only talk to twice a year, but it only takes you a few moments to catch up; perhaps the best friend you gossip with at the office; or, perhaps, the sister or brother that was once a thorn in your side but grew up to be your best friend. While our list of best friends may have grown to include more people, what makes a friendship “best” is sharing our most important secrets, hopes, dreams, aspirations, and disappointments with each other throughout the day or over the years.”

To you all my blogging friend, you had helped me getting through this tough time too through your post and your comment. Thank You!

-Sendie

7 responses

  1. Aww….sweet friend! I am so glad that I met you in the blogosphere and I have loved getting to know you through your blog.. I am so sorry that you have been so sad and having such a difficult time lately and it sounds like you have had a lot going on in your life and that is part of it. But realizing that there is something not right is a huge thing and you are making great steps when you are able to admit that. I know that you are going to figure this all out and I KNOW that you are a strong lady!!! I can tell that from your writing!!! Hang in there and know that this bloggy friend loves you and is pulling for you!!!!

    • Aww. thank you beth Ann. You’re too sweet. I learned a valuable lesson here, to be honest to myself and admit when something is wrong and most of all, say it! Don’t just hold it in. Thanks for stoping by! 🙂

  2. I pray you feel stronger soon.
    Sometimes we think we need to bury our emotions and just trudge along, but it’s really better to just let go and be ourselves. Ironically even when you put on a mask you’re not being your true bubbly self and you can’t help those who come to you, because really you can’t giev what you don’t have.

    I do hope you find strength in the support that is available to you and in time you get your joy back.
    http://www.msluffa.wordpress.com

  3. I pray you get to feel better and more positive about things soon. I call them the cycle of life. No phase last forever, we just have to keep adjusting or like they say ‘rolling with the punches’.

    You are blessed.

    • I feel very blessed! I agree, it is a cycle of life, just as my dad always said, nothing last forever, sometimes you’re up and sometimes you’re down. We just have to keep the faith and stay strong. Thanks for stopping by and leave comment! 🙂

  4. So glad you are realizing that you can’t do it all and there is not shame in admitting it. You have so much on your plate right now–take help where ever you can find it and whenever it offered. In time you will be able to return the favors ten-fold. Its possible to do it all but not by yourself.

  5. Pingback: When friends only stay for a season…. « Sunflowerslady

Leave a Reply

