Out with the old in with the new!

I never really write anything about my new year resolution or stuff like that, well… I used to have one each year but never really accomplished them, so I stop having one. 🙂 One main thing I really want is to be debt free and I’m happy to report that we will be – with the exception of the house, we should be debt free in 1.5 yrs after the car is paid off!  Note that my husband and I haven’t had any credit card bills in 2 yrs and we manage to live without it…  oh wait.. I will still have my student loan.. jezz.. see this is why I don’t want to have new year resolution! ha 🙂

Anyway…

I just learned that this month is named after a Roman God – Janus. One of his unique characteristic is that he has two faces, one looking to the back to see the past and one looking ahead towards the future. I’m so fascinated by this fact that I want to incorporate Janus ability in my own way on how I approach this new year. Ok, I know some of you think it’s a bit too late to have a new year resolution, and maybe true, though it’s better late than never.

I read other people’s blog that write their goal and their new year resolution. Some have a very ambitious goal, for me, I don’t really have a set goal I want to keep this year. It might sound like I have no direction in life. I do, but I also know that life is changing and I know my goal will change with them too. Inspire by Janus, I just look back and learned from my mistakes and others too and evaluated what went wrong and of course learn from them and hope for the best!

Here’s some of things that I learned a long the way:

On my children:

  • Looking at my new born Kalia, I’ve been given a change to witness of what life is during one’s first twelve months. How lucky am I? Very! I learned so much by just watching her grow and feel very blessed every second of it.
  • How my children laugh is the best cure for everything. Just a simple kiss and hugs and a soft whisper “I love you mommy.” Is enough to make me feel like I’m on top of the world!
  • “When the first baby laughed for the first time, the laugh broke into a thousand pieces and they all went skipping about, and that was the beginning of fairies. And now when every new baby is born its first laugh becomes a fairy.” – James Matthew Barrie. I don’t necessary believe in fairies, but I do believe the strong power behind each baby’s laughter…

On my marriage:

  • Between me and my husband, I learned that, just because we argues, doesn’t mean that we don’t love each other. And when someone doesn’t argues, doesn’t mean that they do.
  • I learned that we all grow and change and we shouldn’t have to change each other if we accept that.
  • Try not to go to bed angry and always leave good memory, that one time, can be the last time.  

On my friends and friendship:

  • This happen to me just last week and the year before last where my friends came and visit when I was really sick. This is when I realize that my friends and I, we can just sit there doing nothing and we still have fun! That’s why we’re bff!!! 🙂
  • Even good friend will hurt you – if they’re truly good friend, they don’t mean to hurt you – and we have to forgive them for that. If the friendship is meant to me, then you’ll stay friends, but if not, then we shouldn’t feel too bad for losing the friendship.

On attitude:

  • I learned this when I was living in Sydney during collage. Lady Di just pass away and she’s one of the most loving icon in the world, people around me were grieving left and right, but then life goes on! That hit me that no matter how bad the world had hurt you, no matter how much you grief, life goes on. The world will not stop because of you. No matter who you are.
  • To some of my extended “family” in other state who still blames their past or background or how their parents treat them etc… well, your background and the circumstances of your childhood does have an effect on you, but you are who you are today because of you and you are responsible for your own happiness and who you had become.
  • Honestly, the position you have or your degree and that credentials on the wall do not make you a decent human being!

 There are so much more I wish I could share.. but I don’t want to bored you with my “word of wisdom”. I know I’m still young,  I think maturity has more to do with what types of experiences you’ve had And what you’ve learned from them and  almost nothing to do with how many birthdays you’ve celebrated and even I’m still consider young, believe me that I had experience things throughout my life and I learned from it.

My life is nowhere from perfect, but I accept things they way they are. I have a great husband, a beautiful children, a good job, a house (even some people say my house is small, but it’s mine!). I have many loving friends around me who support me and love me for who I am. I don’t my degree or my job define me as a better person, I don’t need to hide behind material things, in my experience and in my case I believe that the happiest of people don’t necessarily have the best of everything, They just make the most of everything they have.

Happy New Year everybody!

5 responses

  1. Wow.. very good post. I agree with you on the credential. People think just because they have title or degree that they are better than anybody. I hate those kinda people. They normally new money too!

  2. I stumble upon your blog and love it. I like when you said how “the credential on the wall doesn’t make you a decent human being.” I have a story on that on my cousin’s fiance. He just graduate and got a good degree and a great job right away Now, I’m proud of his accomplishment, but I’m also amaze oh how his degree change him and her! They constantly brag about his new title and job and how much money he make etc… Honestly his credential doesn’t make him a decent human being, it turn him and my cousin to a bunch of jerk!

Leave a Reply

