The beauty of Ramadan….

Ramadan is here!!! I feel very blessed to be given another opportunity to see this holy month again. For over one billion Muslims throughout the world including me, Ramadhan is a very special month of the year. This is the month when the door of heaven is wide open and the door of hell is closed. The holy month full of blessing and the month of forgiveness.

It is a time for inner reflection, devotion to God and self control, teaching you to be more compassion towards other human being. This was  also the month in which the first verses of the holy Qur’an were revealed to Prophet Mohammad (PBUH).

It’s a bittersweet moment for me, I’m far away from my family and I never experience more homesick than during this time. I remember the prayer chant from the mosque by my house… my grandma preparing delicious meal for sahur and iftar… praying together at the mosque… my grandma will tell us story about her childhood Ramadan experience. I feel like if I close my eyes, I can see myself back in Indonesia, I can smell the food my grandma and my mom prepare, I can see my dad, all my brothers, sisters were there…. If I just close my eyes…..

My prayer is to be able to celebrate Ramadan and EID with my family in the near future and then I wish to share the excitement of Ramadan in Indonesia with Tyra and Kalia.

Now, it is my turn to create a wonderful holiday memory for my child….. I’m excited to teach Tyra more about Ramadan this year, I think she can start understand it more. I start by reading Tyra some story about Ramadhan, one of my favorite book to read to her is Night of the Moon by Hena Khan.

And I also found this story from the internet, short but Tyra like it. –  I post it below…

Happy Ramadan everybody, from the bottom of our heart, we ask for forgiveness so we can start this holy month with clean and pure heart…

The Sweetest Sound A Ramadan Story

This story comes from Persia, an area now known as the countries of Afghanistan and Iran. Once there was a King of Persia who liked to ask riddles. He particularly liked to ask his four advisors riddles. Sometimes the King knew the answer. Other times he didnt. The King asked those riddles to hear what his advisors would say.

 One day, just before the beginning of Ramadan, the ninth month of the Muslim calendar, the King of Persia asked his four advisors, “What is the sweetest sound?”

 The first advisor immediately said, “Oh, your Majesty, that is such a simple riddle. The sweetest sound is the sound of a flute.”

 The second advisor disagreed. “Yes, the sound of a flute is sweet. But the sweetest sound is the sound of a harp.”

 The third advisor shook his head and declared, “The flute and the harp do make sweet sounds. However, I have heard a violin. And that is, by far, the sweetest sound.”

 The King looked at his fourth advisor who merely smiled. The King nodded at him, saying, “Hmm, it looks as if my fourth advisor is not yet ready to give his answer. I will wait until he is ready.”

 Days passed. The month of Ramadan started. The King of Persia stopped asking riddles and spent more time in prayer, as is the custom during Ramadan.

 You see, during the month of Ramadan, all Muslim adults refrained from eating and drinking between daybreak and sunset. This fasting during Ramadan is one of the Five Pillars of Islam. The fasting serves many purposes. First, the time and energy normally spent preparing food and eating can be spent contemplating and praying. Second, the fasting reminds people of the poor and how it feels to be hungry. Charity is another of the Five Pillars of Islam. Third, fasting helps teach people self-control. If they can avoid things which are good for them, think of how much easier it will be to avoid things which are bad for them.

 After sunset each day, the fast is broken by a meal, called the Iftar. Often people invite friends over for the Iftar.

 So it was not unusual when the fourth advisor invited the King and the other three advisors over for the Iftar one evening. When the King and the three other advisors arrived, they were quite surprised. The fourth advisor ushered them into the dining room, but there were no platters of food on the table, just empty plates and silverware. Nor could they smell any cooking smells from the kitchen. They looked at each other questioningly.

 Just then, a man came in playing the flute. It was a sweet sound. He was followed by a man playing the harp, then by another playing the violin. Finally, the three musicians played together, beautiful, intricate music, which was also somewhat loud. That was just as well, because all their stomachs were growling.

Finally, the sun has set and the most called out a call to prayes (Athan) also mean it is time of Iftar to break the fast, the King smiled broadly and said, “Yes, yes, my fourth advisor. You are right. The sweetest sound is the sound of Of Athan during Ramadan, letting us know, it is time to break the fast. As the proverb says, the most delicious meal is the meal that you eat when you are hungry.”

Children prayer - Junie Doctor/Getty Images

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Welcome Ramadan « Sunflowerslady

Leave a Reply

