Kalia Ariana Vang

My Kalia…

The birth of my little girl Kalia Ariana Vang… I have tried now to describe the emotions that were present on that day, …. trying to say all of the right words to perfectly paint the picture, but it is very hard to describe it.. all I can do is try to share it with a story the best way I can….

No sugar coating… no sweet talk, the pregnancy has been a hell for me. It was the most miserable time of my life. The first trimester was too sick to enjoy anything, too sick that doctor has to prescribe me something so I could functions, oh, there’s also a bleeding issue. Second trimester was a moment of relief. The sickness was gone, but then there’s a blood pressure issue… also slowly enter the third trimester the baby was sitting on a theoretic nerve that causing me a lot of pain. Just to take a simple steps going to the bathroom can causing me a lot of pain. I was downright miserable. I miss a lot of work, I’m in pain, I cry a lot, I also worry about the baby… all emotions mixed together…

April 23rd, 2010

My due date was April 30th, but due to the conditions I have, we talked about getting me induce early. Doctor wanted me to try to stay at least 39th week so the risk will be lower. The date set for the 23rd of April. We went in the night before so they can scrape my cervix because even though it’s my 39th week I still haven’t dilated at all! They gave me sleeping pill so I can have a good night sleeps for the hard day ahead, Tyra and my husband was with me in the labor room the whole time.

6:00 am my water broke by itself! I was surprise! Doctor was schedule to come around 7 – 8 am to broke my water and start inducing me, but my water broke by itself while I was still lying down I thought I peed on the bed! I’ve been having contraction but not strong enough finally it getting stronger at  around noonish… by 1 pm I really couldn’t stand the pain, I try not to scream (believe me the urge is there!) the epidural doesn’t work well on me, maybe because I had few procedures done on my back due to a past car accident – who knows.. finally it’s time to push… it is only take 3 push and she’s out!! A very healthy baby of 8lbs, 1oz and 20 inch.

After the umbilical cord is cut and they wrapped her in a blanket they gave her to me immediately.. I didn’t cry that day….(but I feel like I’m ready to cry right now…) nothing can really describe how I really feel that moment when I first held her… looking at how beautiful she is, she got daddy’s eyes, she got my lips.. oh God does she really got my lips!!! Hahaha…she had long and beautiful fingers like my Mom, this all just bring back memories when I hold Tyra for the very first time….  They are both very beautiful baby in their own way and I’m the luckiest mom! They are both a miracle..

I remember thinking how lucky I am to be receiving this miracle, I really don’t feel worthy!

Right now Kalia is almost 3 weeks old… she’s truly a blessing and a wonderful baby, she already on a schedule from day one (set by herself!). Tyra too has been a wonderful big sister and a wonderful first born, I really couldn’t ask for more… they’re both a wonderful mother’s day present for me…

Happy Birthday Kalia… Mommy loves you!!!!!!

Happy mother’s day to you all….

It’s not only children who grow. Parents do too. As much as we watch to see what our children do with their lives, they are watching us to see what we do with ours. I can’t tell my children to reach for the sun. All I can do is reach for it, myself. ~Joyce Maynard

Leave a Reply

