Ramadhan 2008

Ramadhan and Eid Fitr is my most favorite holiday. I have such a wonderful memory of this holiday as a schild. As I was little, our family has this tradition of giving gift if we can complete a full month of fasting. So, my cousins and I always have this competition of who is strong enough to complete a full month of fasting without breaking any day. As I grow older, I start understanding more and more true meaning behind Ramadhan and fasting. Its a beautiful month, I now understand why Phophet Muhammad (SWT) always cry as Ramadhan is ending. Its a holy month that now, I too alwyas wait for it to comes.

At Eid, we always went from one relative houses to another… as a kid, you’ll receive money and of course a big feast! But its not just all that, I miss that sense of traditions. I miss the sense of forgiveness that normally in the air. Being with family just sharing a good time. I feel guilty that maybe Tyra won’t have that kind or memory of Ramadhan & Eid. I will try my best of course in teaching her about it and hopefully she’ll love it as much as I am.

This year Ramadhan falls on labor day. Its a holiday, so its kinda makes it easier for us to sleep in after sahur and just relax. Hmm… did I say relax? Not for me. I invite few friends to come over and break the fast at my house that day. So that day is nothing but relaxing for me. Since early morning, I run around the city to do grocery shopping. First stop is Arash store to purchase Halal meat, then off to H-Mart & Little saigon to buy some needed Indonesian ingredients. But I enjoy it so much, and it makes the day go faster. This year ramadhan is longer than what I used to cause its closer to summer, (end of summer), so we don’t eat/drink until about 7.30. In Indonesia, fasting end at around 6.00pm. Just think that as the time move closer to summer it will be longer, I hope I can still manage to do it fully, InsyaAllah.

Meaning of Ramadhan: The name “Ramadan” is the name of the ninth month; the word itself derived from an Arabic word *rmd as in “ramida” or “ar-ramad” denoting intense heat, scorched ground, and shortness of rations. It is considered the most venerated and blessed month of the Islamic year. Prayers, fasting, charity, and self-accountability are especially stressed at this time; religious observances associated with Ramadan are kept throughout the month.

Allah-eser2.jpg

Leave a Reply

