My “Hmong” recipe

As you all know my husband is Hmong and beside fallen for him (ahem..) I also fall in love with some of Hmong food. In all honesty when it comes to food it really doesn’t take much to impress me. :)

I can actually master few of Hmong recipe – that’s better than my man who can only made one – water and rice! – ok, if you’re not Hmong you didn’t really get the joke… :) anyway.. but really I can make good enough Hmong food to be consider as an “ok” nyab (daughter in law) by my in law. For example, I can make a really good papaya that in most of ever gathering I was in charge of making them – until lately cause I’m getting lazy – .

Remember few weeks ago I was in a cooking frenzy? One of the food I cook that day was one of my husband’s favorite Hmong dishes, it’s called Kaphong – I probably butcher the spelling – it’s a curry noodle soup. It can be made with any meat you wish. The weather is colder makes it a perfect time to make it. I was in the mood of having a noodle soup dish-like but I wasn’t craving a heavier broth type of food. So I’ll try to make this dish but forgo the coconut milk… a little scare, this can either make me or break me – in term of my husband liking it. :)

He ate it…. and…. he like it! Even have second serving.. phew… now, for anybody who knows me I’m not the type that asking for my husband approval, but this is his favorite dishes and I since I twitch it from the original recipe I’d like to get my opinion…

Here’s my lighter version of Hmong dishes Kaphong or Kaphoon…

My version of Kaphong

It’s very simple to make – much simpler than the original recipe. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • Boneless chicken breast – cut in cube
  • Garlic – 4 crush or chopped
  • Shallot 2 or 3 depending on the size – chopped
  • Gallangal roots 2 inch
  • Lemon Grass – 1 stalk
  • Lime leaves – 5
  • Bamboo shoots – 1 can
  • Red Curry Paste – half of small can
  • salt n pepper
  • Tomato – around 5 cherry tomato
  • 1 cube or dry chicken stock
  • Fish sauce for taste
  • Limes
  • Chopped cabbage
  • Cilantro

Boil the water in a medium pot add the lemon grass and gallangal roots. Dice up chicken Breast. In saute pan, heat cooking oil and brown the shallot and  garlic then add the meat. after all cooked, add the curry paste. Add them all to the boiling water, add fish sauce, salt and pepper to taste and chicken stock. At the very last, add the lime leaves, bamboo shoots and choped up tomato.

Serve in a bowl over rice noodle with chopped cabbage, cilantro and a squirt of lime.  Enjoy! :)

One response

Leave a Reply

